As requested by you …
Serving creative industries means connecting with creative people, and your imagination is a great asset to us when bringing Moment to life. As the user base expands, we increasingly receive creative and valuable suggestions that help us make our product serve you even better. Recently, several user requests have been implemented by our developers.
The following is a summary of what some of these newly introduced features enable you to do.
- Get better business insight from your list of invoices and “Projects” > “Report”
- Create and save filters for your own use only
- Add company holidays
- Override default VAT-settings by customer and project
- Group invoice lines and hide hour count on invoice
- Set invoice status to “Do not send”
- Set default project role to be assigned to co-workers adding hours to a project for the first time
- Make co-worker(s) responsible for approving hours on a project by ticking the “Project Owner” box
- Add comment when adjusting hour and vacation balance
You may find some of these new additions useful, depending on your specific needs. You can read about each feature in more detail below.
Get better business insight from your list of invoices and “Project” > “Report”
In the “Invoices” overview under “Finances”, we have added functionality that e.g. allows you to pull your fees and surcharges while leaving out your expenses. This enables you to quickly display only the values that constitute your income, where these values previously were hidden in your invoice totals. Just tick the boxes next to “Fees incl. surcharge” and “Expenses surcharge” under “Show columns”, set the time period you wish to display, group e.g. per month and, hey presto: When looking at your totals, what you see is what YOU get.
With the recent additions (ticked below), you can now get an even better and more detailed overview by displaying any of the following columns in your Invoices list view:
Furthermore, we have also added several new values to display under “Show columns” in the Projects Report. Other recent additions to this section are filtering by “Default Price Model” and displaying amounts for selected periods as well as totals.
Create and save filters for your own use only
Previously, saving filters as reports meant that these reports would be visible to all co-workers. This is often useful, but not always: Different co-workers may have different reporting preferences and needs. Now you can make the new reports you create visible to yourself only by ticking the new “My Report” box.
Add company holidays
Users with company administration access rights can now add company holidays, i.e. any days your company will be closed for business on dates beyond national holidays when all companies are closed.
Any company holidays that are added will be visible in all co-workers’ time sheets as a red day/date. Also, the explanatory label entered will be visible when hovering the cursor above the day/date:
When company holidays are added, this will affect each co-worker’s time balance in the same way national holidays do: No co-workers will be expected to work on that date and thus any hours entered will be registered as extra time.
Override default VAT-settings by customer and project
Defaults for VAT settings in Moment are local VAT rates for local customers and 0% VAT for customers abroad. Now you can override this by customer and by project if necessary. Such a setup is useful e.g. when the customer is located in your own country but is a VAT-exempted charity, or for projects that take place in your own country and are taxable locally while the customer is based abroad.
You can choose the settings to override the default setup by customer under [customer] > “Invoicing options” > “Invoice settings”, or by project under [project] > “Invoicing options” > “Invoice settings”.
Group invoice lines and hide hour count on invoices
You now have the option of grouping hourly based invoice lines by co-worker, role, activity, task and rate under “Setup” > “Settings” > “Invoicing” > “Invoice lines”:
You can also switch off hour count so that this will not be visible on invoices, meaning that quantity instead will be set to 1 and unit price will be equal to the total price of the invoice line.
Choosing the “Do not send” state for an invoice means that it will no longer appear to be an invoice awaiting despatch as signified by the red cross in your list of Invoices. Previously, some users have been concerned that Invoices they may have made by mistake and then credited, could be confused with invoices to be sent in the list. By choosing the “Do not send” state for such Invoices and corresponding credit notes, you avoid this problem as you will only see the red cross appearing when invoices should be sent but are not sent yet.
Set default project role to be assigned to co-workers adding hours to a project for the first time
Now you can specify a company standard for which role that should be automatically assigned to co-workers once they start recording hours to a project. Go to “Setup” > “Settings” > “Projects” and scroll down to “Team” to set the desired default role.
The choice you make here (on company level) will be overridden if you specify different default roles for individual co-workers:
Make co-worker(s) responsible for approving hours on a project by ticking the “Project Owner” box under Team Membership
A co-worker could be a Project Leader without necessarily being the one required to approve the hours registered to a project. To enable you to make co-workers responsible for approving hours regardless of their role, we have added the “Is project owner” box that you can tick under [project] > “Main page” after you click the co-worker to “Edit team membership”:
Ticking this box means the co-worker(s) in question will receive the hours recorded to the project for approval. Project Owner has also been added to the Project Report to enable filtering and grouping projects by the co-workers with this function.
Add comment when adjusting hour and vacation balance
User administrators have access rights that allow adjusting co-workers’ time and vacation balance. It is now possible to add a comment when doing this:
Added comments will be visible to co-workers in their time and vacation balance next to any adjustments made.